Christlike Attributes

At the beginning of this month, Jared and I decided we wanted to tell the kids a story from Christ’s life every day this month. We read the story and talk about Christ and His attributes. We discuss how we can cultivate that attribute in our own lives to BECOME more like Christ. At dinner, we talk about the attributes we’ve listed. We ask questions like, “Caleb, how have you been patient today?” or “Daniel, when were you obedient?” Of course, they are so young that many times we have to tell them the good things they did, but they LOVE to hear that! Next year, I think I’ll make a poster with a picture of Christ in the middle and as we read the stories I will write the attributes of Christ around Him or put up pictures that SHOW my kids what He’s like.

A GREAT activity to do is the Attribute Activity in Preach My gospel. It is in chapter 6 on page 126 of Preach My Gospel. If you don’t have the Preach my Gospel manual, you can download it using this link: Preach My Gospel Download.

The attribute activity has you rank yourself on how you’re doing on the following attributes: faith, hope, charity and love, virtue, knowledge, patience, humility, diligence, obedience. It asks several, specific questions for each attribute. It is an awesome self-evaluation and helps you see where you can improve.

Leave a Reply

